The everyday or almost everyday babblings of a Mama that lives along a Brook

Menu Monday – 2/7/11

Well this is not the normal Menu Monday. I honestly am not sure what I want to make this week. But we decided instead of traditional grocery shopping that we would do a trip to BB’s (discount grocery store in Morgantown PA) and stock up again. We where hoping to stock up on can goods, but the selection wasn’t there so we got other stuff and I am happy with our purchase. If you click on the picture it will enlarge.

We spent $49.94 above and below is what we got and what we paid. Sadly we somehow lost a bag before we even got to the car. We think we left it at the register and well the next guy got it. It included at least $3.29 worth of items (at least 2 items that I can remember). So all the items in the above picture should only be $46.65 or less if we are missing more than I can remember. It averages $0.73/each (I used the $49.94 and the 69 items we brought home. So technically it was better. Since I can’t remember what I am missing for sure I went with the price I paid and what I brought home.)

Top Picture
Stove Top (8 bx) – 4 for $1.00
Scalloped & Julienne Potatoes (7 bx) – 3 @ $0.70/each and 4 @ 2 for $1.00
Instant Potatoes (4 bx) – 2 @ $0.70/each and 2 @ $1.00/each
Popsecert Popcorn (2 bx) – 2 for $1.00
Ronzoni Rotini Healthy Harvest Whole Grain (1 bx) – $0.60
Barilla Whole Grain Rotini (1 bx) – $0.60
Saltines (1 bx) – $0.69
Cheese It Whole Grain Crackers (1 bx) – $1.49
Cheese It White Cheddar Crackers (1 bx) – $0.50
Zatarins Crab Cake Mix (1 bx) – $0.50
Quaker Chewy Chocolate Chip Granola Bars (1 bx) – $0.99
Crystal Light Skin Essentials Drink Mix (3 bx) – 2 for $1.00
Lunch Crackers Peanut Butter (1 bx) – $0.99
Lunch Crackers Cheddar Cheese (1 bx) – $1.19

Lower picture
Minute Main Lemonade Juice Box (1 pk) – $1.49
HK Anderson Pretzel Snack Bags ( 3 ea) – $1.49/each
Brickles (like Doritos) (3 bgs) – $1.49/each
Butter Puffin Corn (1 bag) – 2 for $1.00
Grated Parm. Cheese (1 each) – $1.49
Apple Juice (1 bottle) – $0.75
Canned Peaches (4 cans) – $0.59/each
Canned Gravy (10.25 oz each) (4 cans) – 2 for $1.00
Jar Gravy (2 jars) – $0.79/each
Canned Gravy (14 oz) (2 cans) – $0.70/each
Maxwell International Coffee (2) – $0.99/each & $0.50/each
DelMonte Spaghetti Sauce (4 cans) – $0.99/each (i use when I make homemade sauce)
Whole Tomatoes (28 oz cans) (4 cans) – $0.60/each
Tomato Puree (28 oz can) (2 cans) – $0.60/each
Crushed Tomatoes (29 oz can) (2 cans) – $0.60/each

90-95% of the above is good until at least June 2011, but most is good until 2012.

We love BB’s. I can’t wait until Mike finishes my basement shelves and our plan is to then stock up of more stuff, like can goods. Our goal is to never have to shop for just the weeks menu and to always have stuff on hand to make. It might require creativity but we can do it. And we also want to be able to pass the savings along to others once we are stocked up and they are in need of some groceries. Once we get the shelves done then he needs to work on getting my freezer in my basement somehow or we need to find an inexpensive one that we can buy and then sell ours. I want to start putting our grocery savings into purchasing our meats and being prepared that way as well. And I want to be able to make recipes and freeze them. I love to put food in my freezer and the plan this year is a big garden and to put a bunch up. Now that I have a bit more time to tend a garden and to put food together I hope to have a nice full freezer and pantry to feed my family from.

Leave a Reply

