The everyday or almost everyday babblings of a Mama that lives along a Brook

Take It Off Thursday – 1/6/11

Take It Off Thursday is going to be a series of my trials and success of me trying to be more healthy.  This came after I found I have gained 15 pounds since the end of September 2010.  This officially puts me at 45 pounds above my ideal body weight (IBW).  My IBW is not unrealistic, it is very obtainable.  It will require some work and discipline but I can do it.  To top of my journey I am going to make a promise to God.  I am going to promise to treat my body better and think more about what I put into it.  This doesn’t mean I won’t have junk but it does mean I am going to lose some weight and be more active.  I want to be the woman who is healthy, not pencil thin or obese.  I am currently considered obese according to my BMI (body mass index), but I never held much stock in that, since if you know me I am not a very big person, but I am solid.  Most people are shocked to hear my weight, I am not posting it here.

Goal: To lose 45 pounds this year.  I want to lose it slowly since I want to keep it off.  Ideally average of 1-2 pounds a week.  Would I love to lose it faster of course, but I need to be real about this.

Plan: To eat no more than 1250 calories a day, be more active and workout more often.

How am I going to accomplish it: No more soda or ice tea, drink water and coffee only but monitor my sugar intake with coffee (goal to eventually drink it black), only eat meat at supper, smaller portions, add more fruit and veggie to the menu, healthy snacks and Zumba, and lastly be more consistent with taking my daily vitamin and supplements.

So as I sit here and drink my last  Diet Cherry Dr Pepper and about to drink the last of the homemade ice tea I am starting to wonder can I do this.  Can I really give these up.  The best part is I know I can.  I will have days of failure and days that are really good but my ultimately goal is to be a the healthy woman God intended me to be.

“To keep the body in good health is a duty… otherwise we shall not be able to keep our mind strong and clear.” – Buddha

Leave a Reply

